RSS

Steampunk: Halloween Wait! Part 1

24 Oct

Is the hallowed holiday of costuming sneaking up on you? Don’t have your costume ready? Have run out of ideas and cash?

Fret no longer, I have done the legwork for you.

While cruising around the inter-webs I discovered that on Etsy, one of my favorite places, prices have creeped up.

Steampunk costuming generally is never cheap, but I was quite shocked that some crafts people are charging upwards of $120 for jewelry that is neither precious, semi precious or all that intricate.  Another shocker was full Victorian garb for $2000.00!

Oh my.

I still love you Etsy. I understand that things will always be a little pricey due to the nature of the site BUT for all of you who are on the holiday budget crunch and don’t mind mass market production clothing I have a few favorite places to share.  I would like to say I’m going off the premise that you fair readers have run out of time to sew, craft and piecemeal together, as we all know, most Steampunks do all the above for their costumes.  Here are two websites with ready-made outfits for purchase:

GoodGoth.com

I heart GoodGoth.  Sorry Gentlemen, this is website is mostly for ladies…unless you like to cross-dress then by all means please do check out this

GoodGoth.com

website it’s wonderful!  If not skip to the section below GoodGoth.

I discovered GoodGoth about 3 years ago.  It is not a Halloween specific or character costume website.  They are dedicated to Gothic inspired clothing, but they have so much more.  Their clothing is very good quality and their prices are fabulous.  They also send out weekly coupons.

They cater to the Gothic crowd, but they have integrated Steampunk into their wares.

So even if you don’t wear this clothing year ’round, it’s a wonderful place for costuming and accessorizing. I am partial to their shoes too (must avert mine eyes or I’ll buy their whole stock of boots).

Check out the fine folks at GoodGoth and let me know what you think!

DressLikeAPirate.com

DressLkeAPirate.com isn’t too bad.  There is more for men to find that’s for sure.  It’s still a bit pricey, but there’s also the advantage of the being able to buy a complete premade costume. If you don’t want to do that and just need an extra jabot, pirate shirt, pair of boots, or walking stick this is an excellent resource.

I have not personally bought anything from this site, but I have spoken to customers who have had a pleasurable experience and little hassle with their transactions.

DressLikeAPirate.com

I want to emphasize that they do have a variety of men’s clothing.  I know that it is very difficult to find a good variety of menswear and accessories for Steampunk. It is a shame really.

For the rest of the week I will be posting websites that cater to Steampunk and Steampunk-esqe costuming that is affordable and not widely talked about. Everyone who has been around the Steampunk scene has heard of SteampunkEmporium, and the GentlemensEmporium…at least I hope so. If not men go check it out, but prices can get steep quick. Don’t be afraid of switching out $80.00 trousers for $8.00 thrifted trousers.

Also guys don’t be afraid of looking in the women’s section at your local thrift store for good pants.  Steampunk and Neo-Victorian patterns tended toward the bold and ridiculous.  Your maleness will not be diminished in the slightest if you pick up the most hideous paisley printed or stripped pants from the women’s aisle.  In fact your panache points will go up infinitely.  A paisley print pant with a solid colored vest, add boots or dress shoes, you are on your way to a damned fine outfit.

I speak from experience.  Several men in the Gypsy Steam Circus ventured into the female pant territory to rock out their Steampunk look and it worked better than any of us expected.  I’m talking purple paisley pants with purple stripped vest, black leather top hat (yes you know who you are).  It was great, and they had an overwhelming positive feedback about their outfit.  No one would have guessed it was all female clothing.

If you have any favorite costuming websites please share by leaving a comment.  If you have an Etsy or any other independent shop that caters to Steampunk costuming do not be afraid of self promotion, leave your link in the comment section.

In Part 2 I’ll be mentioning corsets and more mens costuming.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Steampunk: Halloween Wait! Part 1

  1. Lorena Ambrose - Mesmera on Etsy

    25 October 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for the great info! And for Steampunk hats and accessories visit my Etsy shop – Mesmera ~

     

Leave a comment